Tropical Storm Ernesto

As I write this, Tropical Storm Ernesto is a few hours from making land fall south of here. The rain and wind effects have been here since early afternoon. We were dismissed from work at noon, so I made a mad dash to South Beach sortly thereafter. I was’nt expecting epic conditions that is for sure. I encountered the classic S. Beach chop slop crap. The waves were 3 to 6 feet high with the usual washing machine effect. Typical. It was a bit more manageable than I expected though. I scored a few good sized fast ones in my 3 hour session. I did take a decent beating geting back to the line up as is expected on these days. I purposely stayed some what conservative in my approach today in anticipation for tomorrow. There could be some real deal surf to be had at some point tomorrow. Then again perhaps not. The local news continues to put surfers in a bad in light, basically saying we are foolish to risk our necks for this. Furthermore, they say we perceive this as perfect waves. For the intermediate to expert surfer, we are not in any real danger in a situation like this and we think these waves are quite poor. Leave it to the media to over dramatize things. Hopefully no real damage will be incurred in the next few hours as a result of Ernesto, but I am also hoping for another day off work to score some better waves. Aloha.
About Dionys

I am perpetually seeking the aesthetics found in the realm of diverse creative arts. I am often dedicated to producing creative projects also. I balance my intellectual pursuits with various action sports. I consider physical fitness important along with adequate nutrition. I am an avid traveler and an explorer of wild places. I am Biblically Literate therefore a Believer in Jesus.
This entry was posted in Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

