Save Me (Act One)

Save Me

 

Late last night I received an urgent call on my cell phone. I barely had a chance to react as the person spoke rapidly and unintelligibly. I finally understood the address he wanted me to write down. As I did, he said I needed to get there as soon as possible and to arrive alone. As I began to protest, he abruptly disconnected the line. I sat at my desk with my head slumped down in my hands. I was very confused at this point as for what to do next. Who was this person and what did he want? I tried to go back to sleep, but was unsuccessful. Against my better judgment I decided to go to meet this mysterious person with an urgent situation. I proceeded to put on an old pair of jeans and a T-shirt and head out the door. It was about 1 a.m. when I was speeding down the highway to my destination. I suddenly noticed a black Ford Mustang was following me. I thought I was just being paranoid, but I wanted to know for sure. I pulled to the side of the highway and put my blinkers on. The Mustang passed by at a normal speed and kept going. I waited a minute before I pulled back on the highway. I was surprised to see the same Mustang in my rear view mirror.

I was in need of a new plan. I slowed down and the car moved past me at a normal speed. I began to follow it now. Two minutes later the car exited the highway. I was somewhat relieved by that but was still unnerved by what may lie ahead. I exited off the highway to head toward the meeting place when I saw the infamous black Mustang following me again. I pulled up to a traffic light with the car right next to me. My heart was racing as I rolled down the window. The cars passenger’s window was also rolling down. What I saw was totally unexpected. It was… Well let’s just say it wasn’t anyone at all! The car seemed to be moving with no driver. I continued to the rendezvous trying to displace the pursuing Mustang from my mind. I cautiously parked my car near the address I was to be at. The Mustang had ceased to follow me prior to my arriving at the place. I took a deep breath on this humid Miami night while I placed one-foot in front of the other in the direction of the meeting place.

The meeting place happened to be in an old Irish bar near downtown. I entered in keeping my expression stoic. The bar was typically dimly lit and full of cigarette smoke. This was indeed a very unwelcome smell to my lungs as I broke my stoic demeanor with a couple of profound coughs. The eight people in this bar all turned to stare at me in unison. This small crowd was comprised of six men and two women. Interestingly enough they were all well dressed and neatly groomed. This was an awkward moment for me due to the fact I did not even know the name of the mysterious caller. I thought I play it off by taking a seat at the bar next to one of the well-dressed men. He looked to be a Jamaican in his early forties. He had light black skin and his hair was shaven down to his skull. The bar tender politely asked me what I was ordering. I said ‘I will have whatever he is having’ (Referring to the Jamaican). The barkeep brought me what looked like milk in a dark glass. My instinct was telling me not to drink this so called milk, but a strong curiosity bid me to take a big gulp. What happened next is difficult to explain.

I needed some answers so I started a conversation with the Jamaican. He seemed to know nothing relevant to my search. In the midst of our conversation, I received a call on my cell. The display said ‘private’ just like when I received the other call. I let it ring two more times before I answered. To my serious disappointment, it was an old friend of mine Lopez who was just calling to say hi. I impatiently told Lopez why are you calling me at 2 in the morning on a Monday. He is known to be a bit eccentric, so I just dismissed him peacefully. Upon closing my phone, the barkeep slipped me a sealed security envelope with my name on it. He said that a guy dressed in black gave him this envelope to give me about an hour ago. A cold chill crept up my spine. I probed the bartender for more information, but he kept eerily silent. I finished the milk and handed him a $20 bill. I stepped outside with the envelope in hand. I became aware that one of the two women followed me outside. She was a young black woman in her mid thirties. She wore glasses and her hair was long and wavy. I kindly greeted her by saying hello, but she just stared at me blankly.

I started to look for somewhere secluded to open this envelope when a small yet powerful twisting wind appeared from nowhere and pried the envelope from my hand. I then saw the black Mustang emerge from a corner slowly passing right in front of the pub. I saw the driver’s window roll down as a hand reached out to grab the envelope delivered by the strange whirl of wind. I caught a glimpse of the driver and freaked out. It was the same young black woman that was next to me a moment ago. I looked to see if she was still there but she was gone and so was the car. I ran toward my Honda Accord and immediately noticed my front right tire had been slashed. Oddly enough, the tire was actually bleeding all over the floor. I put a bare finger to the blood on the floor and the blood turned white just like the milk I just drank. I ran back inside the bar and noticed the same eight plus the barkeep as when I first stepped in. This time the smoke did not affect my lungs. I took an empty seat next to the young-black woman. I was not expecting any reaction from her due to our last encounter. The barkeep came my way and politely asked what I’m having. My reply was whatever the young lady is having. He came back with a small clear glass with what seemed like red wine. I threw caution to the wind and took a big sip of the wine. It had a pleasantly distinct taste. I drank some more when the young lady pulled out of her purse the same sealed security envelope that I last saw flying to her hand in the Mustang. She used an old-fashioned 18 ct. gold letter opener to open the envelope. She took out another sealed security envelope from within and gently handed it to me. I reluctantly accepted it and wasted no time to begin to open it. She tapped me on my shoulder preventing me from making a mess of the envelope. She handed me her letter opener for me to use. I again graciously accepted and again began to open the envelope when I was interrupted by a dark figure behind me dressed in all black.

About Dionys

I am perpetually seeking the aesthetics found in the realm of diverse creative arts. I am often dedicated to producing creative projects also. I balance my intellectual pursuits with various action sports. I consider physical fitness important along with adequate nutrition. I am an avid traveler and an explorer of wild places. I am Biblically Literate therefore a Believer in Jesus.
This entry was posted in Short Story. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

