Travel Synopsis

6 days / 5 states / 2200 miles of a journey thru the heart of the Southeast and the photos to prove it!

 Overall, this road trip was indeed a trip on the road. There were a few shortcomings, but they were only minor. I found Blue Springs to be closed, and Ginnie Springs to cost $12 on Sat. and Sun.  Poe spring was interesting though, allowing for a good view of the Santa Fe River. The road to the Quarry Overlook was closed. That was the main thing that attracted me to Chewacla State Park, but I rather enjoyed hiking over the boulders on the creek near the dam.  I missed a couple of opportunities to photograph special views of sunsets and sunrises due to being at the wrong place at the wrong time.  I was positively surprised by the powerful Noccalola Falls found on the side of an Alabama state road. I did not find anything very special in Desoto State Park due to a lack of time among other things, but Little River Canyon well compensated for that. I took a wrong turn that cost me about 30 miles and 25 minutes. I also was misdirected by the GPS to a park office many miles away from the actual park on the same morning. I still saw and experienced plenty that day like the afore mentioned places, Lookout Mountain, and Ruby Falls. In Cade’s Cove I only saw deer when the potential for more would have existed if the weather was over 50 degrees. It was about 25 at the time. I did see wild turkeys on 2 separate occasions in Florida though. The vistas in Smoky Mountain National Park were amazing. I hiked atop Whiteside Mountain in NC only to have the great potential view blocked completely by clouds. The interesting part was that I was literary in the clouds. In GA I wasted time trying to find the overlook of Rabun Gap, and the Sock em’ Dog River, but Tallalulah Falls compensated well for that. The journey to South GA lacked mountain scenes unfortunately. The fog mixed with sunshine in North FLA on the way back was quite a sight.  Payne’s Prairie was a nice finishing touch to quintuple state voyage.

About Dionys

I am perpetually seeking the aesthetics found in the realm of diverse creative arts. I am often dedicated to producing creative projects also. I balance my intellectual pursuits with various action sports. I consider physical fitness important along with adequate nutrition. I am an avid traveler and an explorer of wild places. I study The Scriptures therefore I trust in YAH.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment