My Jogging Partner

My jogging partner and I have not run together since last July.

With the sun high in the sky, we set out on our training route.

This in times past was our custom, until our meetings grew seldom.

While we stretched in preparation, we’d also engage in conversation.

We would persist in our dialogue in the midst of our jog.

As our pace would increase, our chat would cease.

In unity our acuity would incline until we reached the finish line.

The end result would catapult more of the sort.

Recently I’ve relied on the easier side of exercise.

Now I run again in a stint sprint with my jogging partner.

 

 

This is an allegory of my endeavor to write poetic rhymes. Many years ago I would be prolific in this area. My jogging partner is the rhyme itself. I feel like I am jogging with a partner when trying to write a rhyme. The easier exercise is journal entries (monologues, editorials etc.).  Content is often sacrificed for the sake of the next verse and line. Another reason I have abstained from such is it is more time consuming. The above piece took an estimated 1 hour. In the same time I would have written 7 times that in my typically encrypted style. The exercise of the rhyme design is valuable to me due to its artistic essence. When I can incorporate profound meaning to a rhyme, I feel like I accomplished something unique.

 

About Dionys

I am perpetually seeking the aesthetics found in the realm of diverse creative arts. I am often dedicated to producing creative projects also. I balance my intellectual pursuits with various action sports. I consider physical fitness important along with adequate nutrition. I am an avid traveler and an explorer of wild places. I am Biblically Literate therefore a Believer in Jesus.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

