My Friend Hope

I met my friend Hope when I was 3 years old.
We grew up together. He was a constant and loyal companion.
I saw much less of him by the time I was a teenager.
Sometimes a year or two would pass before I would happen to see him.
In those brief encounters, I had noticed that he had changed much.
He seemed tired and weak. I had other supposed
friends that I relied on in those days so I did not pay him much attention.
 
I was about 20 years old when most of my friends abandoned me.
It was at this time that I reacquainted with Hope.
The more we spent time together the more his vigor increased which
reflected on me. I eventually and thoroughly apologized for my indifference
thus catapulting a new relationship with Hope.
Once again he was my constant
and loyal friend only the circumstances of my life were very different.
 He taught me many things in many ways. I would readily absorb these lessons.
 
When I was about 30 years old Hope moved away.
We would write each other frequently at first. I made some
other supposed friends and gradually forget Hope. These friends also abandoned
me. I then wished to reunite with Hope.
I finally tracked him (he moved several times).
I paid him a visit and we spent some time getting reacquainted.
Something was amiss though. He seemed to be withholding something.
We used to have more mutual friends.
 It seems like few people I know even remember him as he was.
 
It would be many more years before I would see Hope again.
 He paid me an ever so brief visit. He looked preoccupied at times.
I made extra effort to reestablish a connection.
He came across as coy. I did not think him capable of purposely misleading me,
but Iknew he was concealing something.
I received a troubling anonymous call a few days after Hope’s departure.
The caller curtly reports that Hope is dying.
The news was actually not surprising.
I knew that if he were to die I would soon follow.
It has been a month since this report.
I have called Hope but he does not answer.
Strangely I don’t feel betrayed.
I do feel lost and confounded.
 
 
 
About Dionys

I am perpetually seeking the aesthetics found in the realm of diverse creative arts. I am often dedicated to producing creative projects also. I balance my intellectual pursuits with various action sports. I consider physical fitness important along with adequate nutrition. I am an avid traveler and an explorer of wild places. I am Biblically Literate therefore a Believer in Jesus.
This entry was posted in Allegory, Monologue, Personal Journal, Short Story. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Friend Hope

  1. Seep says:

    I Feel You My Friend!!

Leave a Reply

